Language modelOpen weights
Hemmingway-1
The Commons Lab
- Released
- -
- Data date
- October 3, 2026
Hemmingway-1 focuses on everyday English writing such as messages, emails, and difficult conversations. The Commons Lab post-trained Qwen3.8-27B to deliver the requested text directly, without surrounding it with preambles and alternatives.
The model has 27 billion parameters and handles 262,144 context tokens. Its weights use CC BY-NC 4.0, with commercial use requiring a separate agreement according to its model card.
Measurements without matching peer values
These measurements have no matching peer values under the same test conditions. Their original values and sources remain available here.
CommunicationBench (Show measurement, test conditions, and source)
- Source value
- 1026
- Score
- 1026
- Metric
- CommunicationBench reported score
- Unit
- No unit provided
- Category
- source-specific
- Direction
- Higher is better
- Source type
- vendor-reported
- Evaluator
- Provider model card
- Status
- active
- Retrieved at
- 2026-10-04
- Methodology
- Vendor-reported result. Author-built internal benchmark; 80 real requests, blind head-to-head answers to the same request, shuffled presentation, both answer orders, and a judge model different from the judged models.
- Context
- Source-specific observation; it is not a shared comparison cohort. The source table does not state a unit or scale for this numeric score.
Human-Likeness (Show measurement, test conditions, and source)
- Source value
- 1032
- Score
- 1032
- Metric
- Human-Likeness reported score
- Unit
- No unit provided
- Category
- source-specific
- Direction
- Higher is better
- Source type
- vendor-reported
- Evaluator
- Provider model card
- Status
- active
- Retrieved at
- 2026-10-04
- Methodology
- Vendor-reported result. The same author-run blind matchups as CommunicationBench, with the judge asked which answer a person wrote.
- Context
- Source-specific observation; it is not a shared comparison cohort. The source table does not state a unit or scale for this numeric score.
EQ-Bench 4 (Show measurement, test conditions, and source)
- Source value
- 1330
- Score
- 1330
- Metric
- EQ-Bench 4 reported score
- Unit
- No unit provided
- Benchmark version
- EQ-Bench 4
- Category
- source-specific
- Direction
- Higher is better
- Source type
- vendor-reported
- Evaluator
- Provider model card
- Status
- active
- Retrieved at
- 2026-10-04
- Methodology
- Vendor-reported result. The card identifies EQ-Bench 4 as public and says it was run with its own harness; the value is the Hemmingway-1 bar read from the complete chart.
- Context
- Source-specific observation; it is not a shared comparison cohort. The source table does not state a unit or scale for this numeric score.
StoryBench (Show measurement, test conditions, and source)
- Source value
- 1197
- Score
- 1197
- Metric
- StoryBench reported score
- Unit
- No unit provided
- Category
- source-specific
- Direction
- Higher is better
- Source type
- vendor-reported
- Evaluator
- Provider model card
- Status
- active
- Retrieved at
- 2026-10-04
- Methodology
- Vendor-reported result. Author-built internal creative-writing benchmark; chart shown in the primary model card, with the same disclosed blind-comparison approach.
- Context
- Source-specific observation; it is not a shared comparison cohort. The source table does not state a unit or scale for this numeric score.
Sources and data date
Every statement links to its underlying documentation or leaderboard.
| Type | Evidence and data date |
|---|---|
| Research status | Research date October 4, 2026. 7 source URLs checked. This documents the inspected sources, not an exhaustive inventory of every publication. |
| Additional source | Hemmingway-1 model card (retrieved October 3, 2026; October 4, 2026) · Hemmingway-1 model card · Editorial description reviewed October 4, 2026 |
| Additional source | Creative Commons BY-NC 4.0 (retrieved October 3, 2026) · Creative Commons BY-NC 4.0 · Editorial description reviewed October 4, 2026 |
| Additional source | Provider model card (retrieved October 4, 2026) |
| Additional source | Provider model card (retrieved October 4, 2026) |
| Additional source | Provider model card (retrieved October 4, 2026) |
| Additional source | Provider model card (retrieved October 4, 2026) |
| Additional source | Model metadata (retrieved October 4, 2026) |
| Additional source | Model metadata (retrieved October 4, 2026) |