Skip to main content

Is Claude Code Free? Credits, Limits & Alternatives (2026)

Is Claude Code free? Not on Claude's Free plan. Compare API credits, Guest Pass terms, paid Google Cloud access, 7 token-saving tips, and free alternatives.

FHFinn Hillebrandt
AI Programming
Is Claude Code Free? Credits, Limits & Alternatives (2026)
Links marked with * are affiliate links. If a purchase is made through such links, we receive a commission.

Using Claude Code for free. Sounds too good to be true?

It kind of is. At least partially.

The free Claude plan does not include Claude Code. Anthropic's pricing page lists Claude Code from the Pro plan upward.

Anthropic's API test credit may help new API users try it, and a Guest Pass invitation may offer access if one is available. Google Cloud is another route to Claude models, but its $300 Free Trial credit does not pay for Claude's managed API use.

I have been using Claude Code on real projects since mid-2025, more than 800 hours so far. From small scripts to full web apps. And I will tell you honestly: a small API test credit does not guarantee enough usage for productive work.

However:

There are different ways to try Claude Code or access it through paid usage. I'll compare Anthropic API test credits, Google Cloud's paid route, and Guest Pass invitations when offered, then share 7 strategies to conserve your tokens.

TL;DRKey Takeaways
  • Claude's Free plan does not include Claude Code; API test credits and Guest Pass invitations may offer limited access
  • Google's $300 Free Trial credit does not cover Claude's managed API; Paid billing enables access and usage is charged separately
  • 7 token-saving strategies can help you control usage

Is Claude Code really free?

Claude Code is not included in Claude's Free plan.

A free Claude.ai account lets you chat, search the web, and create Artifacts. According to Anthropic's plan comparison, Claude Code only starts with Pro. Pro costs $20 per month, or $17 per month billed annually.

The problem?

Claude Code uses tokens, and API use can incur separate charges. For enterprise deployments, Anthropic reports an average of around $13 per developer per active day, with 90% of users staying below $30 per day.

Your options depend on whether you need a test credit, plan access, or paid API usage.

Ways to test or access Claude Code

Before we get into the details, here is the quick overview:

API creditsGuest Pass invitation
Free allowance
Small API test credit
Terms set by the invitation
Enough for
No fixed session count can be inferred
Check whether Claude Code is included
Setup effort
API account + configuration
Accept the invitation
The catch
For new Anthropic API users
Check eligibility, duration, included features, and renewal terms
Sources: provider pages
gradually.ai

Anthropic API credits

According to Anthropic, new API users receive a small amount of free credits for testing. Anthropic does not name a fixed amount.

The test credit is for new Anthropic API users. To use it with Claude Code, configure the tool to use the API.

You can find the complete setup in my Claude Code guide.

Google Cloud Agent Platform, formerly Vertex AI (paid usage)

Google Cloud's $300 Free Trial credit is real, but it does not pay for Claude models through its managed API. Google excludes managed generative AI partner models from the credit, and its Claude model documentation describes Claude as a managed API with pay-as-you-go pricing.

To access Claude through Google Cloud, you need to upgrade to a Paid billing account and enable billing for the project. Claude usage is billed separately from the Free Trial credit; any remaining credit applies only to eligible Google Cloud services. You also need to enable the Agent Platform API and request access to the Claude models. A wizard at login now walks you through the Claude Code side, and the Claude Code setup guide for the Agent Platform covers the details.

Claude Code also supports the EU multi-region location (CLOUD_ML_REGION=eu). You do not need to route through US servers. Which Claude models are available there depends on the location, though.

Guest Pass invitations

A Guest Pass invitation may offer Claude access. Check the actual invitation for eligibility, duration, whether Claude Code is included, and any renewal terms.

Claude plan access and limits

The Free plan costs $0 and does not include Claude Code. The plans that include it, compared by price:

Pro
$20/mo.
Max
$100/mo.
Ultra
$200/mo.
Anthropic, Oct 31, 2026
gradually.ai
PlanFree
Usage per 5-hour sessionNo Claude Code
Weekly limitNo Claude Code
Opus accessNo
PlanPro
Usage per 5-hour sessionBaseline, no figure published
Weekly limitBaseline, no figure published
Opus accessYes
PlanMax
Usage per 5-hour session5x Pro
Weekly limit5x Pro
Opus accessYes
PlanUltra
Usage per 5-hour sessionNo 5-hour limit (verified accounts)
Weekly limit10x Pro
Opus accessYes
Sources: Anthropic, Max plan details
gradually.ai

Two things many people overlook:

First: on Pro, Max, and Ultra, Claude Code and claude.ai share the same budget, as Anthropic's help center confirms. I only noticed this myself after a week.

Second: Anthropic publishes no fixed prompt counts, only multiples of Pro. By the way, the former Max 20x plan no longer exists under that name. It's now called Ultra and still costs $200.

Depending on how many tokens your prompt uses, the actual number of messages can vary. Long code files in the context cost significantly more than short questions.

7 tips for managing Claude Code usage

If you use Claude Code on a paid plan or with an API test credit, fewer tokens can help you get more from the available usage. With paid API use, lower token consumption also helps control costs. These are the strategies I use myself every day.

  1. /compact: Summarize the conversation. Rule of thumb: run /compact after every 15 to 20 messages.
  2. /clear: Clear the conversation completely. Do this with every topic switch. This alone reduced my token usage by about 30%.
  3. /model sonnet: selects Sonnet 5.5, half the price of Opus 5.5 and sufficient for most tasks.
  4. /effort low: Less Extended Thinking. For routine tasks.
  5. Keep CLAUDE.md lean: Anthropic recommends staying under 200 lines. Move specialized workflows into skills, which only load when needed.
  6. Plan Mode (Shift+Tab): Plan first, then implement. Fewer attempts = fewer tokens.
  7. /usage: Keep an eye on your usage. On Pro, Max, and Ultra, the command also shows what weighs most on your limit, with recommendations. The old /cost command still works as an alias.

You can find a complete overview of all commands in my Claude Code command reference and in the official command list.

When does Pro make sense?

ScenarioJust trying it out
RecommendationSmall Anthropic API test credit (amount not stated)
ScenarioUse Claude through Google Cloud
RecommendationPaid billing with usage-based charges
ScenarioRegular use (3+ days/week)
RecommendationPro ($20/mo.) is worth it
ScenarioPrimary coding tool
RecommendationMax ($100/mo.)

Let's do the math. For enterprise deployments, Anthropic reports around $13 per developer per active day. Pro costs $20 per month. From two intensive days per month on, the subscription is cheaper than paying through the API.

For the full cost breakdown: Claude Code pricing.

5 free alternatives to Claude Code

Antigravity CLI (Google)

Google's Antigravity CLI (command: agy) is the terminal client for the Antigravity platform. Google ended Gemini CLI access for its consumer Free, Pro, and Ultra tiers on June 18, 2026. The open-source Gemini CLI remains available for enterprise and paid API-key users.

Antigravity CLI is a separate alternative. Antigravity's official pricing page lists an Individual plan at $0 per month, with basic weekly rate limits and access to a variety of agent models. Which models and limits are available depends on your plan and Google's current terms.

Comparison: Claude Code vs. OpenAI Codex.

GitHub Copilot Free

According to GitHub, 2,000 code completions per month plus limited chat and agent usage, for which GitHub no longer states a fixed number. The CLI and agent mode are included too. Works in VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Xcode, Zed, and more.

OpenAI Codex CLI

According to OpenAI, Codex is included in the free ChatGPT plan, aimed at quick coding tasks. On the Free plan you use GPT-6 Luna in the desktop app, subject to rollout, and OpenAI does not state a specific usage allowance.

Cursor Free

The Free plan ($0) includes a limited number of agent and chat requests. Cursor does not state an exact number on its pricing page.

Aider + Ollama (fully local)

A local model avoids provider usage quotas and API charges, but your hardware, available context, and runtime still impose limits. It runs offline and requires a capable GPU. Quality may be below Claude's.

Running Claude Code on a Cheap VPS

If free coding plans hit their usage limits or you want to keep a paid Claude Code session running for hours or overnight, a cheap VPS may be worth considering.

Your own machine no longer has to stay on. You save battery, fan noise, and local resources, and the session stays alive even when you close the laptop. You install Claude Code on the server once, connect via SSH, and let it work in headless mode.

A server is not free, of course. For 24/7 tasks, however, a small Hostinger VPS is an affordable starting point. Liquid Web is another option if you prefer a general-purpose VPS with full root access. Either route is usually much cheaper than buying a capable GPU just to run local models.

Frequently Asked Questions

Claude Code is not included in Claude's Free plan. Anthropic's API pricing FAQ describes a small test credit for new API users but does not state its amount or expiry. Google's $300 Free Trial credit cannot pay for Claude's managed API. After you upgrade to a Paid Google Cloud billing account, Claude usage is billed separately. A Guest Pass invitation may include access; check its terms for eligibility, duration, Claude Code access, and renewal. Claude Code is included in Pro, Max, and Ultra; Pro costs $20 monthly or $200 billed annually.

Anthropic's API pricing FAQ does not state a fixed test-credit amount or expiry date, so there is no general answer to how long it lasts.

Yes. On Pro, Max, and Ultra, Claude and Claude Code share the same plan usage pool. Available limits depend on the plan and your usage.

Pro costs $20 monthly or $200 billed annually (equivalent to $17 per month) and includes Claude Code. Whether it is worth it depends on how often you need the included features and shared usage pool. API usage is billed separately.

For a local workflow, Cline and Aider are open-source clients that can use a model running on suitable hardware. Cloud models accessed with API keys can add usage-based charges. Google ended free consumer Gemini CLI access on June 18, 2026. Antigravity's official pricing page lists an Individual plan at $0 per month, with basic weekly rate limits and access to a variety of agent models. Which models and limits you get depends on your plan and Google's current terms, so check the details for your account before relying on them. Our Claude Code alternatives also cover Aider and Cline for local-model workflows.
FH

Finn Hillebrandt

AI Expert & Blogger

Finn Hillebrandt is the founder of Gradually AI, an SEO and AI expert. He helps online entrepreneurs simplify and automate their processes and marketing with AI. Finn shares his knowledge here on the blog in 50+ articles as well as through the AI Business Club.

Learn more about Finn and the team, follow Finn on LinkedIn, join his Facebook group for ChatGPT, OpenAI & AI Tools or do like 17,500+ others and subscribe to his AI Newsletter with tips, news and offers about AI tools and online business. Also visit his other blog, Blogmojo, which is about WordPress, blogging and SEO.