GPT-4.1 nano

OpenAI
Although it was the 4.1 family’s smallest API tier, GPT-4.1 nano handled a roughly one-million-token context window. OpenAI designed it for fast classification and autocomplete.
It was followed by GPT-5 nano.
The index averages rank percentiles from 10 documented comparison cohorts.
Page 1 of 9
Overall
758 image-text tasks combine OCR, spatial understanding, object recognition, and open-ended visual reasoning. The dataset is private and uses task-specific rubrics, making independent reproduction difficult.
higher is betterAs of August 26, 2026Scale: 0% - 100%
| Sub-task | GPT-4.1 nano (This model) | GPT-4.1 | GPT-4.1 mini |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exact Pages | 48.95% | 62.82% (best value in this row) | 59.44% |
| Max Fitting Context | 38.46% | 60.84% (best value in this row) | 55.01% |
| Shared Max Context | 38.81% | 65.5% (best value in this row) | 59.32% |
higher is betterAs of August 11, 2026Source: Vals AIbars scaled within each row, not across rows
Overall
higher is betterAs of September 29, 2026Scale: 0% - 100%
| Sub-task | GPT-4.1 nano (This model) | GPT-4.1 mini | GPT-4.1 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Few-Shot CoT | 51.01% | 64.65% (best value in this row) | 64.14% |
| Zero-Shot CoT | 50.51% | 71.21% (best value in this row) | 66.67% |
higher is betterAs of August 11, 2026Source: Vals AIbars scaled within each row, not across rows
Overall
higher is betterAs of September 29, 2026Scale: 0% - 100%
| Sub-task | GPT-4.1 nano (This model) | GPT-4.1 mini | GPT-4.1 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Easy | 85.4% | 95.34% (best value in this row) | 94.72% |
| Hard | 8.29% | 21.43% (best value in this row) | 13.14% |
| Medium | 34.47% | 57.7% (best value in this row) | 56.14% |
higher is betterAs of August 11, 2026Source: Vals AIbars scaled within each row, not across rows
Overall
higher is betterAs of September 29, 2026Scale: 0% - 100%
Page 1 of 9
One SVG prompt and fixed output settings. Captures are shown only with 0 reported reasoning tokens or documented lack of reasoning controls. Identical test conditions do not make the models' internal compute identical.

A community classic for free-form SVG drawing.
GPT-4.1 nano

Reasoning (requested): not specified
Visually reviewed. This individual test does not establish overall model quality.
Generate an SVG of a pelican riding a bicycle
Token limit including reasoning: 8,192 tokens
Task origin (Simon Willison)35.3 / 100
| Specification | Value and source |
|---|---|
| Weights | ProprietarySource |
| Access | APISource |
| Context window | 1,047,576 tokensSource |
| Knowledge cutoff | June 1, 2024Source |
| Notes | 1M context, parameter count not disclosedSource |
| API model ID | gpt-4.1-nanoSource |
| Maximum output | 32,768 tokensSource |
| Input | Text, ImageSource |
| Output | TextSource |
| Reasoning mode | noneSource |
| API interfaces | Responses API, Chat Completions APISource |
| Tool calling | YesSource |
| Structured output | YesSource |
| Release | 2025-04-14Source |
OpenAI's developer-facing GPT-5 launch material describes GPT-5 nano as the successor to GPT-4.1 nano, its lightweight tier for cost-sensitive and real-time use.
Introducing GPT-5 for developers (2026-09-19)| Type | Evidence and data date |
|---|---|
| Speed | OpenAI. Output speed after the first streaming chunk, not total response time. Classified as deprecated by Artificial Analysis. Artificial Analysis maintains only the default 10K-input workload there. Retrieved September 8, 2026. |
| Price | Base API prices without caching or batch discounts. Higher context tiers and other rates are listed under Costs. |
| Input | Documented modalities. Retrieved September 8, 2026. |
| Output | Documented modalities. Retrieved September 8, 2026. |
| Research status | Research date September 8, 2026. 3 source URLs checked. This documents the inspected sources, not an exhaustive inventory of every publication. |
| Not found in the inspected sources | parameters-billions Original wording OpenAI API and release pages do not publish parameter counts. |
| Not found in the inspected sources | independent-benchmarks Original wording Only exact OpenAI appendix columns were used in this artifact. |
| Additional source | Context window data |
| Additional source | Scale AI (retrieved August 26, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved August 11, 2026; September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved August 11, 2026; September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved August 11, 2026; September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved August 11, 2026; September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved August 11, 2026; September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved August 11, 2026; September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved August 11, 2026; September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved August 11, 2026; September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved August 11, 2026; September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | Vals AI (retrieved August 11, 2026; September 29, 2026) |
| Additional source | OpenAI (retrieved September 8, 2026) · Introducing GPT-4.1 in the API · Editorial description reviewed October 4, 2026 |
| Additional source | OpenRouter: Popularity index (derived), CC BY 4.0 |
| Additional source | Vercel AI Gateway: Popularity index (derived), CC BY 4.0 |
| Additional source | Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 |
| Additional source | Introducing GPT-5 for developers (2026-09-19) |